I Know He’s There

Every year, it’s the same thing.  Chris, Henry and I go to someone’ s house, visit with relatives, watch some football, eat a huge meal and come home exhausted.  That’s our usual Thanksgiving.

Where is God in all that?

Well, I know He’s in the car as we travel, keeping my family safe. I know He’ s in the kitchen with the cook, adding His special touch to the meal. And I know He’s sitting at the table with us, laughing at our family  stories and silly jokes.

I’m pretty sure He wonders why He tags along to this celebration every year. I mean, we hardly notice Him and only acknowledge his presence for a brief moment before stuffing ourselves full of turkey.

That’s pretty sad.

So, I am going to begin a new tradition this year. Sure, we’ll go to someone’s house, visit with relatives, watch some football, eat a huge meal and come home exhausted.

But, we will thank Him when we wake up in the morning.  We will thank Him as we’re stuffing our faces with turkey and all the trimmings. We will thank Him in every mundane moment and in every decision we make, including the most important one:  pumpkin pie or chocolate cake?

We will, quite simply, thank Him.

Leave a Reply

